The St. Ann’s Academy School Council was formed in January 2002 when the school came under the mandate of the Catholic Independent Schools of the Kamloops Diocese (CISKD). The parents elected to the Council at the Annual General Meeting are listed below, noting the Parish they represent on our council.

School Council meetings are typically held on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 pm in the Meeting Room.   Agenda items must be submitted to the School Council chair one week prior to the meeting.  Items may be submitted via email to or in writing to the attention of St. Ann’s Academy School Council Chair, 205 Columbia Street, Kamloops, BC V2C 2S7.


Fr. Derrick Cameron Reverend Father Derrick Cameron
School Pastor
Sacred Heart Cathedral
Mrs. Jeanne Vos
Holy Family ParishJeanne has been involved some way or another in St. Ann’s Academy since the fall of 1980 (before most of you were born). Her two children and four grandchildren have attended St. Ann’s in the past. She still maintains an interest in St Ann’s as she believes in our Catholic faith and being taught by the influence of Catholic’s gives a better start when in the work world. She worked in finance, banking and until recently was a Kamloops Realtor for 28 years. She is now retired, and has all her children and 9 grandchildren living in Kamloops. St. Ann’s and Holy Family Parish have given her a great sense of belonging. No matter where she goes, someone knows her.
 Christopher Savage Mr. Chris Savage
Sacred Heart Cathedral
Steve Frith Mr. Steve Frith
Sacred Heart CathedralSteve has served as a School Council member at St. Ann’s since his middle child entered into Kindergarten and is now in Grade 6.  His wife Cheryl has served as an elementary school teacher in three different schools in the Kamloops Diocese.  Together they have three children who attend the school, a son who has special needs and two younger daughters.  Steve works for a professional service firm and has interests in organizational health, leadership development, faith formation and building cultures of virtue.  He likes warm days with cool breezes and enjoys seeing smiles on peoples’ faces.
 no-icon  Mrs. Joyce Adjei
Sacred Heart CathedralJoyce has served as a member of SAA School Council since 2014. She is a representative of Sacred Heart Cathedral. She holds a Bachelor of Nursing degree from Thompson Rivers University and a Master of Nursing degree from York University. She has practised as a Registered Nurse for more than 10 years, part of which has been with Interior Health Authority, BC. She is currently completing a Juris Doctor degree at Thompson Rivers University, Faculty of Law. Joyce enjoys travelling to see new places with her family. She lives in Kamloops with her family.
Greg Sykes Mr. Greg Sykes
OLPH Parish

Ms. Anne Szypula

OLPH Parish


  Mr. Frank Caputo

Sacred Heart Cathedral


 no-icon Mr. Thomas Bennett

Holy Family Parish

Thomas has been a member of school council since the fall of 2016, but has a much longer history and connection with the school and parishes of Kamloops.  His family moved to Kamloops in the early 1980’s so he could attend St. Ann’s Academy and both he and wife Evelyn are proud to be SAA Alumni.  They have two daughters that have grown up in the school from pre-school onward, one recently graduated and one in the high school.  Thomas works for a major forestry company in the field of computer mapping and information systems.  When he is not found behind a keyboard and mouse he likes to get outside as much as possible on the dirt or snow.

  Deacon Eddie Lavoie

St. John Vianney Parish

One of the objectives of the Council, as outlined in our manual, is “to foster the full Christian education and development of our children within the framework of a Catholic environment and philosophy, and to encourage the development of true Catholic values as outlined in the Philosophy Statement of Education of Catholic Schools.” (July 1994)